Friday, September 16, 2016

Book Giveaway: Quick, Little Monkey! by Sarah L. Thompson

Enter to win a copy of this wonderful picture book by Sarah L. Thomson, perfect for fans of Janell Cannon's Stellaluna. The giveaway runs from September 17 - 24, 2016.

Reviews say:
"This fast-paced adventure in a South American forest will have readers on the edge of their seats…. The illustrations… bring heightened tension and emotion to the crisp, lilting text…. An author’s note at the end tells readers more about the story and about pygmy marmosets, including that the father provides much of the childcare. This dad and daughter escapade will easily engage audiences who like drama and action in their nature stories." —School Library Journal

"Bold pencil lines, atmospheric watercolor washes in bright greens, browns, and yellows, and double-page spreads…perfectly convey the drama and energy of jungle life. Exaggerated close-ups of Little Monkey's face capture her range of emotions, from exuberant joy as she rides on Papa's back to paralyzing terror as she faces the unknown. Exciting jungle high jinks starring one adorable little monkey and her protective Papa." —Kirkus Reviews

"As a baby pygmy marmoset rides on her father’s back, he shows her how to 'read' the jungle landscape for predators… and to stay safe…. The wide-eyed primate heroine is cute and plucky, and Judge’s… woodsy-toned watercolors create moments of high drama… an evocative story of survival of the itty-bittiest." —Publishers Weekly

Don't forget to follow the blog for news on future giveaways.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

12 comments:

  1. My favourite all time picture book about an animal would be, "Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See?". Such fun for the little ones!
    Jean

    ReplyDelete
  2. Is the cute little animal a lemur?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Little Monkey is a pygmy marmoset, and absolutely adorable.

      Delete
  3. My favorite picture book to read aloud in the library is Bark, George. Kids always laugh!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Sarah, I think my kids are going to love him!

    ReplyDelete
  5. My favorite book about an animal is Library Lion!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I can't wait to read Quick, Little Monkey! It looks adorable.

    ReplyDelete
  7. What a cute little monkey. I would like to take him home to our libraries.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I love Frederick the Mouse- but I love many books about animals. This book looks adorable. Thanks for sharing. :)

    ReplyDelete
  9. I love Brown Bear, Brown Bear! And so do my students. Can't wait to read Quick, Little Monkey!

    ReplyDelete