Sunday, December 20, 2015

Fall reading 2015 Camp Midnight


As a former camp counselor I can honestly say that the most excitement my cabin ever had was chasing a mouse in the middle of the night because someone had carried candy back to the cabin from the canteen. What Skye Sullivan experiences at Camp Midnight is a far different kind of summer camp. 

It all starts off normally enough. Skye's mother is off to Rwanda to work with Doctors without Borders, and Skye is off to stay with her father for a few weeks. There are the typical protests because Skye doesn't like her step-monster, Gayle, but her mom insists that she can't come along because they are not running a Teenagers without Boundaries program in Africa. And then her father drops the bomb - he and Gayle have decided to send Skye to summer camp. The morning of camp departure, Gayle takes too long fixing her hair and they are running late to meet the bus, so it's an understandable mix-up that Skye winds up on the wrong bus. But no one realizes just how wrong...Dunh dunh dunh

So Skye is stuck at Camp Midnight for the summer, and it just gets weirder from there. Even though the campers themselves seem a bit odd, the usual camp antics still ensue. There are arguments over bunk assignments, cheating on the obstacle course, a crush on a cute boy, and Skye might even make a friend. But will camp be the transformative experience that Counselor Cobb hopes it will be? Is it possible for someone who is so angry, and so good at keeping everyone at arm's length, to actually relax and let her true self show?

Fans of Goosebumps, American Chillers, and other slightly creepy tales might enjoy this refreshing twist on traditional camp stories. Readers of graphic novels will appreciate the use of shadows and colors to enhance the spooky atmosphere of the camp, or to convey Skye's emotions.

I read an e-book provided by the publisher through NetGalley.

No comments:

Post a Comment