Wednesday, July 3, 2013

Summer Reading 2013 Toby, the Pet Therapy Dog, Says be a Buddy, Not a Bully

Yesterday I read a good book for dog lovers titled - Toby, the Pet Therapy Dog, Says be a Buddy, Not a Bully. In the tradition of Marley or Dewey the Library Cat, Toby stars in several books written by his human family. On Toby's Terms and Toby, the Pet Therapy Dog, and His Hospital Friends were his earlier literary appearances. Be a Buddy, Not a Bully was just released last month and is sure to be popular in schools. In the story, Toby's owner, Charmaine, takes him to school to talk to the students about bullies. She uses an example of an unfriendly dog who destroys Toby's favorite toy while they are at the park to help the kids understand how bullying hurts others. There is a class discussion of what bullying looks like and how to respond.

I would recommend this book to readers who enjoy stories about real animals (like Marley or Dewey), or books about dogs and pets in general. Here is a video of the author talking about her book.

Click here to see more info at the publisher's website. Toby will soon have his own movie, based on his book On Toby's Terms. There are also a couple of FaceBook pages featuring Toby. His page for "Team Toby" posts notices to help reunite lost dogs with their families. The page for "On Toby's Terms" shares links that might be of interest to dog lovers and also covers Toby's media appearances.


  1. thank you for your thoughtful review of the book. Very much appreciated your comments,
    Charmaine Hammond, author

  2. I love a good dog story - especially one that can help kids live a happier life. I'm sure Toby will be popular with students and teachers at my school.