Saturday, August 2, 2014

Summer Reading 2014 Loot

Fans of The 39 Clues and Star Wars will recognize Jude Watson's name from books covers. In this exciting crime caper, she starts what could be the beginning of an exciting and entertaining series about young jewel thieves. You can't really blame Jules and March McQuinn, both of their parents were jewel thieves - so it runs in the family. Jules was sent to live with their aunt when she was only two, so she and March don't remember they are twins until they are reunited ten years later. While March has traveled around the world with their father and learned to plan and pull off heists, Jules has been performing in the street circus her aunt runs. Through a series of events, March and Jules both wind up in police custody in Amsterdam and learn they are twins. They are shipped back to the states and meet Darius and Izzy in the group foster home where they are placed by authorities. The four kids have to decide if they want to stay and be miserable in the home or strike out with their skills and try to make a future for themselves. Well really, which would you choose? There are double-crosses, clever disguises, relatives that have done jail time, crooks with soft hearts, an eccentric rich lady and an investigative reporter with an axe to grind. Things definitely aren't dull around the McQuinn kids and their gang.

Readers who enjoy kids pulling capers and getting even, like the Swindle or 39 Clues books, will be glad to find this book.

I read an e-book provided by the publisher through NetGalley. The book was published on June 24, 2014.

Update (9/19/2014) - We just added this title to the library through our Scholastic Book Fair.

No comments:

Post a Comment